The Yogi’s Ivy League: Week One

This experience is almost indescribable.

The first day was a whirlwind. Upon my arrival I went to a Kripalu yoga class, ate a delicious dinner with two of my new roommates and went to the first program meeting. I was overwhelmed by the forty-something faces gathered in our space, The Shadowroom. The nervous energy was almost tangible.

However, even without college-orientation-like icebreakers or structured assimilation activities, I grew to love these people very deeply and very quickly. Everyone, including staff, was compassionate, warm and positive.

As the days progressed, we woke up at 5:30AM to attend two hours of yoga (Sadna), ate beautiful breakfasts, had more yoga and lectures throughout the day and typically ended around 6:00PM.

Although I taught yoga to friends and acquaintances, this training taught me countless techniques and cues

I neglected pre-Kripalu.

Kripalu not only allows space for non-judgmental introverted insight and self-compassion, but also heightens my awareness to my surroundings. I’ve never been somewhere that provides this much comfort, emphasizes self-care, and fosters learning. 

So basically it’s more than I ever expected. I guess Kripalu (or Crypalu) really is the Yogi’s Ivy League.

Our Morning Sadna Routine (1 hour 45 minutes):

Centering & Meditation

Three Part, or Complete Breath (Dirgha)
Victorious Breath (Ojaii)
Breathe of Fire (Kapalabhati)

Warm-ups (ie. cat/cow, hip circles etc)

Mountain
Half Moon
Awkward Chair
Eagle
Warrior I

Warrior II (Side Warrior)

Triangle
Wide-Angle Forward Fold
Tree
Upward Facing Boat
Downward Dog
Pigeon
Cobra
Boat
Seated Forward Fold
One Legged Seated Forward Fold
Seated Twist
Yoga Mudra
Laying Twist
Savasana

The Sweet Breath (Nadi Shodhana)

I didn’t realize how much I love Hatha yoga, I hope to bring this practice’s structure home with me!



I packed way too much.



Coffee on Saturdays



Frozen Lake

 

Have a great Monday xx

Leave a Reply

