How to Not Eat all of the Cookie Dough.

Holiday baking fills the house with intoxicating, sweet scents. The aroma of decadent, warm cookies brings a sense of ease and delight. Although my senses may be happy, my waistline may not be as content.

On the rare occasion that I create a sweet confection I eat a VERY generous portion of the batter or dough. First I convince myself that I need to taste test my concoction, you know, for the sake of my friends and family. One small taste turns into two dainty teaspoons, which escalates into ladles of smooth, sweet batter. This mindless eating not only downsizes my cookie yield, but also leads to a sugar coma.

If you have the same dilemma taste testing your sweet or savory creations, then this list of tactics is for you.

  1. Chew gum
  2. Brush your teeth
  3. Sip on hot herbal tea
  4. Meditate beforehand/focus on the breath during preparation
  5. Nibble on baby carrots or sliced cucumbers
  6. Blast some music and dance/sing
  7. Eat a huge salad or healthy meal before you bake, you’ll be too full to crave anything and hopefully won’t want to undo your healthy choice by eating poorly
  8. Do a 20 minute HIIT workout; some studies show interval training reduces cravings
  9. Cook or bake with a friend who has the same health goals as you, or who is willing to support you through your journey of eating nutritiously
  10. Lastly, cook or bake naked. Or nearly naked. I know it sounds absurd but you’re less likely to eat mindlessly when you have less clothing on. For me, I am less likely to order a burger on vacation if I’m wearing a bikini. But that’s just me!

Let me know if any of these tricks work for you!

4 thoughts on “How to Not Eat all of the Cookie Dough.

Leave a Reply

