21 Day Trigger Food Challenge

For some people chocolate is their kryptonite. Others can’t be in the same room as fried things. Me? The enemy takes many forms. He goes by the name of “nut.” Peanuts, walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts, almonds, all treacherous to my health journey. The form of my nemesis is irrelevant; whether it be nut butter, trail mix, KIND bars, or granola, I will indubitably consume too much. 

I guess each time before I contract the nut-related belly-ache I justify the absurd amount of nut consumption with: oh it’s good fats! energy density? Pshhh I probably didn’t eat enough anyway. It’s low in carbs and a good source of protein!

NOOOOOOOOOOOO. I mean yes. Yes all of that is true, but it doesn’t translate to “yes you can eat an entire jar of almond butter.” Too much of anything is a bad thing – too much exercise can cause muscle depletion or the female athlete triad etc.

So okay. Imagine your trigger food. That food that proves your stomach can indeed be a bottomless pit. Now that you’ve got it, let go of it. That’s precisely what I’m going to do for my 21 Day Trigger Food Challenge

Research shows that it takes 21 days to create a new habit. My new habit will be eating more nutrient dense foods in place of nuts and seeds. Join me! I’ll record my withdrawal symptoms, feelings of temptation and mini successes.

Have a beautiful, healthy day!

2 thoughts on “21 Day Trigger Food Challenge

Leave a Reply

