Personal Training Chronicles I

Yesterday was my orientation with my personal trainer! *Amy was 15 minutes late, which set the tone of our appointment. She seemed distracted and disinterested at times during our thirty minute workout. Fine. I understand you’re a mother and you’ve been here since seven in the morning but stop bitching to me about it; I’m trying to get my sweat jive on.

I was told that if I didn’t like the trainer I was paired with I could switch it up. But regardless of Amy’s disorganization, she absolutely gave me a great workout.

Unfortunately, I broke my left ring finger this weekend (the engagement ring finger!!) in the stupidest way possible. I drunkenly tried to photobomb, crashed to the floor, and my large friend stepped on my hand. Resulting in a break. Great. The day before my personal training session.

Despite this handicap Amy intensely worked my lower body as promised. Below I typed up what I could remember of the workout, although I don’t know the names of all the moves I did my best. Anywho, I signed up for a session once a month. I don’t have the finances to go weekly right now, and who knows – maybe Amy or this one-on-one training scene isn’t my thing.

*name has been changed

Killer Abs and Legs Workout (approx 30 minutes)

Forward lunge, backward lunge (left)  30 reps
Forward lunge, backward lunge (right) 30 reps
Repeat!

Jumping lunges x 20

Squat pulse 1 minute
Squats 20 reps
Squat pulse 1 minute

Bicycles 40 reps
Scissors 20 reps
Windmill (on the mat) 20 reps
Hollow Man 30 seconds
Hip Raises – back on the mat, feet to the sky, and press hips upward 20 reps
Plank 1 minute
Bicycles 20 rep

Repeat this circuit three times:
Single-legged hip thrust – right foot on bosu ball, left leg to the sky and press hips upward 20 reps
Single-legged hip thrust – left foot on bosu ball, left leg to the sky and press hips upward 20 reps
Lunge with knee raise on a box or high step (right side) 10 reps
Lunge with knee raise on a box or high step (left side) 10 reps

Stretch. And comment below if you have questions!

If you don’t do this workout I hope I inspire you to do a great leg and ab workout on your own! Just YouTube a short exercise video or head over to my favorite Pilates website: blogilates.com for some short, fun workouts. Just be active 🙂

Okay time for the gym, stay positive and smile!

2 thoughts on “Personal Training Chronicles I

Leave a Reply

